Tags

English: Detail from frontispiece to Thomas Wi...

English: Detail from frontispiece to Thomas Wilson's Correct Method of German and French Waltzing (1816), show. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Have you dreamed of waltz or that you were waltzing?

“To see a waltz in your dream,” according to Dream Moods Dictionary, “represents class and sophistication. “To dream that you are waltzing refers to your prim and proper behavior. Alternatively, the dream suggests that you are the object of much admiration.”

I have never dreamed of waltz nor was there anything that had something to do with waltz ever in my dreams. No surprise there. Both my feet are left.

Deutsch: Lord Byron, britischer Poet

Deutsch: Lord Byron, britischer Poet (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But my Grandma Rosario loved waltzes. She would visit us and alone she would waltz her way to the kitchen, living room, everywhere in the house every chance she got, most of the time without music. It miffed my mother who was worried it was senility progressing, while I had fun watching Grandma sway her hips to imaginary music.

Once when I was about eleven, I played The Blue Danube in protest against pressure to practice Czerny. Grandma heard and immediately glided in my direction. Before she could warn me not to stop playing I turned from the sheet music to see her dancing, eyes round with elation. The poor portable keyboard faltered, and she looked appalled.

It has been twenty-four years. I love to imagine Grandma waltzing alone, just like the way Lord Byron said it in The Waltz (I.109):

 Endearing Waltz–to thy more melting tune, Bow Irish jig, and ancient rigadoon. Scotch reels, avaunt! and country-dance forego, Your future claims to each fantastic toe!
Waltz–Waltz alone–both legs and arms demands,
Liberal of feet, and lavish of her hands.

ABC Wednesday

