Tags

In this post: Booking Through Thursday and Thursday Thirteen

Bookish Sarah asks:

What are your literary “pet peeves”?

Put too many swear words in a story and I lose interest. Too much cursing sounds like limited vocabulary, stunted creativity. The other one is something I have experienced for the first time – a novel with an unlikeable character. The Wise Woman is my first Philippa Gregory. If I wasn’t fond of historical fiction (besides thinking that Gregory is brilliant at her genre) I wouldn’t have minded not finishing the book. The heroine is so unlikeable almost every page developed in me a distaste of her that even her death in the conclusion didn’t convince me it redeemed her. I want my reading experience (outside work) to be a pleasure; not characters that I don’t enjoy.

 Thursday 13: Unusual words that begin with letter N

You may be familiar with or have encountered the following words already. If you do not know what they mean, I hope you have as much fun guessing as I had fun putting them together. 

1. nephogram – is a photograph of (a) lungs     (b) diaphragm     (c) clouds
2. nodated – means (a) knotted     (b) sprained     (c) inundated
3. neuralgiform – is like or shaped like a (a) brain     (b) nerve     (c) esophagus
4. nidify – to build a (a) nest     (b) an invalid argument     (c) wooden box
5. nesiote – means living (a) by a lake     (b) on a dessert     (c) on an island
6. ninon –  is (a) silk      (b) cotton     (c) taffeta
7. nacarat –  means (a) tangerine     (b) bright orange-red     (c) gold
8. naology – is architecture study of (a) a temple     (b)a manor house     (c)a castle
9. natiform – is shaped like (a)a nose     (b) buttocks     (c) hips
10. nemoricolous – means living in (a) valleys     (b) forests     (c) mountains
11. nervure – means vein of a (a)petal     (b) leaf     (c) fruit
12. nipter – is ceremony of washing the (a) feet     (b) nose     (c) hands
13. nepenthe – is something capable of making one forget suffering such as              (a) a drink     (b) an inhalant     (c) a liniment

Answers: 1. (c) clouds   2. (a) knotted   3. (b) nerve   4. (a) nest   5. (c) an island        6. (a) silk   7. (b) bright orange-red   8. (a) temple   9. (b) buttocks   10. (b) forests   11. (b) leaf   12. (a) feet   13. (a) drink

Courtesy to The Phrontistery for the list.

