Tags

We are familiar with high school graduation speeches – ambitions, possibilities, dreams, the big world. We go face the world. College, grad school, overseas work, party, cross continental flights, and then we slow down. Marriage, childbirth, divorce, life goes on.

In December 2010 I traveled to Cambodia with college acquaintances and a man who reminded me of high school. He was our graduation speaker. Suddenly the world seemed small; and I understood our class song – The Impossible Dream. Back then we sang it with a piano accompaniment that sounded almost exactly like this arrangement –

Wait, I’m only 40. Life has just begun and I’m still following the star. Sometimes the quest seems too far but while there is life, I’m going to party, make mistakes, laugh, cry, this time unabashedly in the bathroom, grow, and celebrate life.

This post is shared with Monday’s Music Moves Me of
XmasDolly, Shewbridges of Central Florida, JAmerican Spice
and Stacy Uncorked and with Mel – Arlene’s  Memory Lane
