Right now I’m just grateful to be breathing unscathed. After a thunderstorm that is. I drifted in and out of consciousness through a terrifying one last night. What a relief to wake up to a sunny Friday and recount the week’s highlights.

i. Orchids and ivory. There’s a massive space, courtyard style, at Government House where a trade fair was going on.  I traipsed the shops on my way out but ended up admiring lots and lots of orchids adorning the fair.  It was also my first time to come face to face with jewelry made from elephant tusk. As an animal lover I’m not a fan of products like these but I appreciate the learning angle of the experience.

ii. Passport renewal. Time flies, and I’m happy to have sorted out travel documents.  It was also nostalgia time for the countries I’ve been to in the last five years.

iii. Dinner at Pizza Hut. At first I thought it was a routine eat-out, but I discovered that the bread and chicken sticks, especially the garden salad were just how I wanted them to taste, something I haven’t had in a long time.

iv. Grocery shopping at 10 PM and a free sky train:  less heat to tolerate and less crowd to wrestle.  My apartment is a 3-minute walk to the sky train station and it’s free up to Big C 3 stations away for a year.

v. The Marriage of Figaro by the Ekaterinburg State Opera. I wore a cheap but lovely set of bright red necklace and chandelier earrings – a gorgeous contrast to my blue green, floor length dress; felt like a million baht and laughed. Such a fun night.

Susanne hosts Friday’s Fave Five at Living to Tell the Story.

