Tags

,

My dreams of dressing up a live doll vanished when I found out I was carrying a boy. “Oh well,” I consoled myself, “at least boys’ clothes and accessories are simple and maybe less expensive.”

Some awakening.

To offset costs and save time that can be otherwise used wisely somewhere else, I make sure Cj’s wardrobe has the colors usually worn to most activities: blacks, whites, blues, reds. I worry about stripes, checkers, or what-have-malls-got afterward. For ties, I choose colors that match the trousers or shoes, or those with designs that complement the main color of the shirt.

Children grow like grass, but I don’t believe in buying (too) big sizes. It is just unbecoming. I love watching kids who are smartly dressed. So I pick a size with enough allowance for Cj’s expected growth. When the clothes are outgrown, they are given away. There is no Salvation Army around our neighborhood but as I let my mother give away only pieces that still look new and will last a year or two, she reports that there are always individuals who do not mind them. Trends may have changed and I could be wrong, but the last time I checked, sharing outgrown clothes is still common in a country like ours.

That’s about it. Truth be told I am some kind of fashion fiasco. I only try to get better at apparel stuff because I want Cj spared from turning into a scare crow like I must have been during several occasions.

Linggo ng Wika (Language Week) CJ wears his first barong tagalog

Chris hosts Mommy Moments. It’s fashion tips week @ The Mommy Journey

